[FFXIV] Did I say 30? I meant 40!

She's 5.  She can't read.  But she still roleplays with emotes and gets screenies like this

She’s 5. She can’t read. But she still roleplays with emotes and gets screenies like this

In my last post which I wrote on Monday morning, I mentioned almost in passing that I’d gotten my Lancer class to 30 and had unlocked the Dragoon job.  I had a short session on Monday night, but then was still sock and home from work on Tuesday so I got a lot of play time in on that day and . . .well…. now I’m up to level 40.  Something I found kind of interesting on this go-round of the leveling train was just how much one needs to do leve quests in the 15-30 range, and then while you can certainly try to do the Coerthas FATE grind while underlevel, the rewards are actually kind of crappy when you do and the reward tends to not be so great either, so the 30-35 range seems better spent doing a mix of leves and FATEs in Costa Del Sol.  It also helps to have the weekly challenges rest on Tuesday and get all that lovely bonus xp from them too 😉

Something I’m finding interesting with the Lancer/Dragoon is how much a a slight skill change on level-up can change the whole thing.  As I mentioned before, up until level 26 the whole thing was pretty much “buff, combo1, combo2, combo1, combo2, buff, repeat” and was pretty boring.  Even getting to 26 it was still more or less “buff, Fracture, combo1, combo2, combo3, repeat” but then at 30 you get a dot that you want to put in early, and then you get Blood for Blood at 34 which is a nice 20-second buff that’s on a longer cooldown, and then you eventually get Disembowel which is a debuff on the mob vs your attacks so you want to get that in as early as you can, and now…… well, I have an 8-skill rotation, not counting adding in 3 other buffs at various times in order to maximize the dps, and this is further going to change as future traits will extend timers also.  And this is why the final “best” rotation is apparently 17 steps in length, since one needs to set up buffs and debuffs against their timers and then use the single-shot buffs at the right time etc.

I’m finding it a lot more engaging now than I thought that I would.  Too bad it wasn’t really until I got to level *34* before the class finally became interesting.

Happy gaming out there!

Level 35 skill

Level 35 skill

Level 40 skill

Level 40 skill

This was a pretty awful mish-mash of gear

This was a pretty awful mish-mash of gear

And it prompted a visit to the market board where I came out looking like this

And it prompted a visit to the market board where I came out looking like this (though it’s a dropped spear from a leve quest chest)

A less action-y shot of the level 38-ish gear.

A less action-y shot of the level 38-ish gear.

 

Posted on June 3, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

