[FFXIV] Learning New Things

Got my CE Griffon!

Got my CE Griffon!

Yesterday, I learned from Gamer by Design of a possible aid/workaround to the Login Boss.  Basically you start the game but instead of hitting “Start” on the 1st screen you hit “Data Center” and pick anything other than Aether data center.  This gets past the error that says you can’t connect to the data center, and then you can swap the data center to Aether and pick Cactuar server and then log in (possibly with a short queue).  Sadly, I wasn’t able to start my play session until about 11:20 pm Mountain Daylight Time, so… I got right in without having to try any cool tricks.  Next time perhaps…..

I can even fly with it in CWH

I can even fly with it in CWH

Since I was level 53, I decided to pop back to Ishgard to pick up that Clan Hunt quest in the tavern to see what that was about.  It appears to be a sort of daily hunt log with 5 “cards” to fill out.  You don’t have to do all 5 (and there’s actually no bonus for a full completion) but filling out a card gives ~23K xp and 1,000 gil, so doing all 5 is a touch over 100K xp and 5,000 gil.  Since you only have to kill 1-3 mobs per card, it is very fast to do, even though the 5 cards are spread across 3 zones.  Nice little xp bump for minimal effort — more travel time than anything.  The next level of the thing is unlocked at level 56.

Love the wingtip vortices when it glides

Love the wingtip vortices when it glides

I made it to 54 last night and popped back to Ul’dah for my class quest.  This time it wasn’t just “go here, go there, go to that other place, and back to the quest giver” like the 1st 2 quests were.  No — this time it was “go here, go there, kill 2 very easy mobs, and go back to the quest giver.”  Free xp and a new skill that forces Thunder, Fire, or Scathe to proc their secondary effect on a 1x per minute cooldown.  Seems like it will be best used with Thunder since that’s only got the 5% proc chance, and Scathe is so rarely used and does merely “ok-to-low” damage even when it procs its double potency hit, not really any point to using it there.  And then Fire procs 40% of the time, so it’s always going off, though during a burn phase on a boss it might be helpful for that slight guaranteed Fire 3 hit.  And when I get Fire 4 eventually maybe it will do something for that.  I could look it up, I suppose, but… nah, I like to find out what I get when I get there.  So no, this still isn’t learning the new things mentioned in the title — except for learning the actual skill, anyway. 😉

DRK "alternate stance"

DRK “alternate stance”

So.. learned about the new hunts, learned about a new skill, but the biggest standout in my mind as to a new thing I learned yesterday is something that never even occurred to me as being possible.  I knew that you could hit “z” to sheathe and unsheathe your weapon, but it never occurred to me to even try typing in the /cpose (change pose) command with the weapon drawn to get a different stance.  But I saw it mentioned on Reddit and had to give it a try and…. yeah, the alternate poses that I’ve seen so far have been pretty nice.  They don’t seem to stay as a default like your standard idle pose, but they can make for some nice screenshots!  So yeah… complete fluff, but since it’s something that I doubt I would have ever thought of even trying and it ended up being rather cool fluff…. this is my big “I learned something!” for the day.

Happy gaming out there!

I liked how this place looked

I liked how this place looked

This means that my regular chocobo can fly now too

This means that my regular chocobo can fly now too

Yes, I soloed a dragon!

Yes, I soloed a dragon!

BLM alternate stance

BLM alternate stance

AST alternate stance

AST alternate stance

Ysale has some awesome spell effects

Ysale has some awesome spell effects

Ravana unlocked.  Now I just need to do his trial.

Ravana unlocked. Now I just need to do his trial.

 

Posted on June 24, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I was only stood last night next to a DRK in town and thought “I wonder how he’s stood like that? Is it an emote you learn…”, thanks for posting the tip!

    We’ve been relatively lucky I think with the login issues. The weekend was unplayable but since Monday we’ve got in with no data centre errors and only short queues. Then again we’re on Balmung but on UK time so we login very early for the bulk of the playerbase.

  2. I didn’t know about the /cpose thing either! Thanks for sharing! 😀

    I also unlocked my griffin last night and was working on hunts for the first time.

    Good luck with Ravana – he is not as easy as the 2.0 story trials. We wiped over and over with the first party I joined to the point we ran the timer out and had to give up. The second time, we got it on the third try. A lot of mechanics to know about, so you may want to read up on what to expect from his moves.

Leave a Reply

