[FFXIV] 6 wins

The main Gnath hive

The main Gnath hive

My wife isn’t supportive of my MMO habit at all, so I generally don’t play much on weeknights since I’d rather have her happy that we’re doing something together (and yes, I’ve tried to get her to play with me, but she’s afraid she’d get addicted and play 24/7 if she did, so she just refuses to start), but last night she was at a meeting in the evening, so I hopped on to see if I could get past Ravana since I’d done all the other side quests and the only way forward was the trial.  Duty finder said 11 minutes for me as a dps, but it was only about 6 or 7.  I actually got interrupted at the Clan Hunt board when the queue popped becuz I thought I’d have plenty of time to pick that up and was perusing the cards to see where I’d need to go.  Such is the life of the queue, isn’t it?  An FC tank was complaining that he was having 30+ minute queues, so I guess I’m happy that I’m leveling dps 1st and avoiding the DRK glut.  But anyway, whenever I do play and my wife’s around she always asks “did you win?” and yesterday after the full play session that I did, I felt that I’d had 6 wins, so that’s the meaning behind today’s post title.

Getting ready to fight Ravana

Getting ready to fight Ravana

Back to the story:  The queue popped for Ravana and there we were looking at the big bug.  The Paladin had done it before, but I think the other 7 of us were new to the fight.  Maybe one of the healers wasn’t.  The tank basically said “dodge stuff, make sure you always have a wall behind you, don’t fall off the edge if you don’t have a wall behind you, and kill the butterflies when they spawn, giving priority to the red ones.”  The healers cast Protect and Stoneskin 2 and the pull began.  It seemed to go really well at 1st — We had Ravana down to about 70% before I even lost my Stoneskin, and I think when I lost it it was due to the unavoidable hit after the add phase, so I was thinking I had the dodging figured out.  The other 2 BLM’s in the group kept taking lots of damage and 1 kept dying and finally stopped accepting rezzes since his stats were so low due to the rez weakness that any hit was 1-shotting him so it wasn’t worth it for him to pop back up at a high mana cost to the healer only to go back down a few seconds later.

Ravana fight in progress

Ravana fight in progress

For my part, I think I lost some focus (or became too focused on my dps rotation and not on defenses) and therefore started taking hits that I probably could have avoided, and while my 1st uses of Manaward and Manawall were well-timed, I didn’t do so hot with them later and so I eventually went down too.  By this point the healers were focusing mostly on the tank and themselves, not rezzing anyone at all, and trying to keep the Dragoon up.  Eventually the Dragoon went down too, but we still had one of the Black Mages (there were 3 of us) up and LB3 came available, which a healer used to bring everyone back with no rez sickness.  Too bad it didn’t fill the healer’s mana too, but beggars can’t be choosers, I guess.  Anyway, we kept working on him and got him into the teens when LB2 came available and the tank told the Dragoon to use it, which popped Ravana down to about 5% and he went a little nuts (tank said it was a soft enrage) and I’m really not quite sure what happened, but suddenly all 4 dps and both healers were down, and both tanks were heavily damaged.  I thought to myself “well that’s frustrating to get so close and fail” as I watched Ravana’s health tick to 3% and then just sit there.  But then it ticked down to 2%… then to 1% but the 2 tanks both only had slivers of health left, so no way was this going to happen when…… it happened.  Ravana down!  Done by the skin of our teeth, but we got him on the 1st try.  How cool is that?  Win #1.

See?  Flying in Dravinian Forelands!

See? Flying in Dravinian Forelands!

The Main Story Quest (hereafter MSQ) could now advance and some more side quests opened up.  The MSQ showed a reward of the final aether current for the zone, so I really wanted to get that done.  This took me to the Sohm Al dungeon.  The Duty Finder again said 11 minutes, but popped in about 6, so that was nice.  I think I was the only new person in this group, but everyone else said it was an easy dungeon, and it was.  Some interesting trash mechanics at times, which was nice that they weren’t simply something to grind through.  Still and all, we finished the dungeon handily, and that was Win #2.  Oddly enough, this took me right into the next zone after zoning out of the dungeon, which actually made sense from the MSQ standpoint, but seemed a bit odd mechanically.  Even so….  I got the quest completion there in the Churning Mists and that unlocked flight in the Dravinian Forelands for me.  Win #3

My more often seen flying mount.  Something about only being able to use it when it's your companion....

My more often seen flying mount. Something about only being able to use it when it’s your companion….

I’m a completionist, so I zoned back to Dravinian Forelands and finished up all the side quests there.  Some of them were annoying due to all the travel even with the ability to fly, so I can hardly imagine having to do them while groundbound.  They literally sent me to all 4 corners of the map with a trip back to the quest giver in between each time, and even flying in a straight line with the 200% flght speed buff it took a long time.  Running through the maze on the ground with the 100% mount speed buff would have just felt slooooooooow and even more annoying.  Another quest had me pick some plants up on a cliffside and I’m not sure that one could even get up there without flight, so it was definitely a boon to have flight.  And I finished up all of the quests in the zone, so: Win #4.

Unlocking Sohm Al

Unlocking Sohm Al

At this point I decided to take a side trip and actually do the daily Clan Hunt that I’d picked up at the beginning of the nigt, so I headed off to do that.   It was fun being able to fly around CWH and DRF to simply get the mobs I needed there.  In the Cloudtop zone it’s kind of annoying due to the fact that the zone’s split into 2 parts and the 2nd part apparently won’t come open until later in the story quest, so I can’t even get to the northern parts to work on grabbing aether currents and unlocking flight, but the hunt mobs are alllllllllll the way over on the east end of the map and you zone in on the west end of the map, and it’s a bit maze-y to get over to the east, so it’s a bit annoying to have the hunts in there, but…. hey I did it.  Hunt completed, 115,000-ish xp and 15 more Centurio Seals under my belt.  Win #5.

Ding 55!

Ding 55!

I headed back to Churning Mists and started in on the MSQ and side quests there.  Explored to find aether currents (7 down, 3 to go, plus I’ve already got 2 of the 5 from quests now also) and then it was 11:35 and the notification that downtime was coming in 25 minutes went out.  And then I looked at my xp bar and thought “Oh, I’m close to 55!  I wonder if I can finish before downtime?”  Short answer:  Yes.  Yes I could.  Win #6.  It’s also a stunningly gorgeous zone and I got a lot of screenshots.  And I got to work with moogles, which is always a hoot.  All in all a most excellent evening with FFXIV.

Happy gaming out there!

This "friendly" dragon unlocked Sohm Al for us.

This “friendly” dragon unlocked Sohm Al for us

Running through Sohm Al

Running through Sohm Al

Things are looking up for the Warrior of Light!

Things are looking up for the Warrior of Light!

The view as one arrives in the Churning Mists

The view as one arrives in the Churning Mists

The same view from the top of the cliff behind you as you enter the zone

The same view from the top of the cliff behind you as you enter the zone

And what the place looks like close up

And what the place looks like close up

Attuning the aetheryte as I got to the zone

Attuning the aetheryte as I got to the zone

Kan-E-Senna comes to talk to the moogles

Kan-E-Senna comes to talk to the moogles

Inviting the moogles to come talk

Inviting the moogles to come talk

The moogle chieftain

The moogle chieftain

I liked the colors in this view, so... screenie!

I liked the colors in this view, so… screenie!

My daughter is thrilled to have a griffin mount now

My daughter is thrilled to have a griffin mount now

 

Posted on June 25, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Said FC tank complaining about 30 minute queues would have been me 😛 Something something level 60, small population, late at night, DRKs everywhere, etc.

    It’s a good thing you’re a completionist, though. I completed every single quest in the expansion available to me and it still wasn’t sufficient to hit 60 on its own on a single job. You’ll need that XP for sure.

    Churning Mists are gorgeous for sure 🙂 And the moogles are hilarious, though they do wear a little eventually. But still fun and funny 😀

Leave a Reply

