[FFXIV] Story Completed

New Robe and Helm

New Robe and Helm

Due to last week’s IRL trip, I delayed finishing up the 3.0 story missions until I got home this week, and while on the one hand I’m glad I waited, on the other, unlocking the end of the story also unlocks 2 more dungeons and the Expert roulette, making it possible to get 360-400 Tomes of Law per day for 3 dungeon runs, which I did on both Saturday and Sunday so now I’ve got my robe, legs, and helm from the set — just gloves and feet to go!  Though upgrading them all from 170 to 180 will take a while since it takes 3 days of the daily hunts to get enough seals for 1 item, with a touch left over, unless I want to jump on the hunt train.  I’ve already upgraded the robe, but there are still 4 more pieces, so that’s 1200 seals — 11 days (110 seals per day from the hunts, so 11 days is 1210).   And of course, the Alexander raid has been released and it enables one to get i190 gear and I’ll be looking into getting into that soon.  Some FC members have already cleared all 4 floors that are currently available, and while I feel no need to “catch up” it sounds like the raids are a lot of fun, so… why deny myself the fun of doing them too?

Level 52 Scholar skill is mine!

Level 52 Scholar skill is mine!

I’m still working on the Summoner with the daily hunts.  I can do them all up through the level 59 mobs anymore, so no loss of 2 hunts worth of XP like I was doing from 50-52.  I’m within a day of level 54 now, so should get that tonight.  Something I’d forgotten when I got to level 52 as a Summoner was that Scholar had leveled up simultaneously, so I went back and did the quest for it to get my level 52 skill for that job also.  I’ve also done a little work on my Pugilist, getting it to level 23, and then spent some time with the Astrologian, getting it to 38 and rather close to 39 now.  This past weekend I tried a few low-level dungeons as the AST, but without the roulette XP bonus the low-level ones like Satasha and Tam-Tara Deepcroft really don’t give much xp at all for the time spent, and after doing 2 of them where I was the tank becuz the 1st timer Marauder or Paladin couldn’t figure out how to use Overpower or his aggro combo, even with me and a dps telling him how to do it (I got LOTS of commendations for being (and I quote) “the most patient healer in the world”), I packed it in and rode the FATE train in CCH for most of my XP instead.  It was actually a lot faster.

A convocation of dragons

A convocation of dragons

So yeah, that’s it for today’s update — story’s done, all dungeons are unlocked, Alexander’s unlocked but not done yet, gear average is level 172 and in less than 11 days will be the maxed out 179 that’s possible to get without doing the extreme primals or Alexander.  I’ll see about doing them this week also.  Should be fun!  Happy gaming out there!

I love the golem's slowing eyes

I love the golem’s slowing eyes

Leaving Azys Lla on dragonback with my friends on the Enterprise Excelsior

Leaving Azys Lla on dragonback with my friends on the Enterprise Excelsior

And arriving in Ishgard

And arriving in Ishgard

How are they breathing?  Nice picture of the Final Fantasy world whose name eludes me

How are they breathing? Nice picture of the Final Fantasy world whose name eludes me

In a prior post I said we'd probably unlock the magic dome in the Hinterlands -- yup we do.  It's the Alexander.

In a prior post I said we’d probably unlock the magic dome in the Hinterlands — yup we do. It’s the Alexander raid entrance!

Alex from a different angle

Alex from a different angle

Toward the end of the Fractal Continuum dungeon

Toward the end of the Fractal Continuum dungeon

I got my Behemoth mount veteran reward this morning

I got my Behemoth mount veteran reward this morning

And thus so did my daughter.  She was thrilled!

And thus so did my daughter. She was thrilled!

 

 

Posted on July 13, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Congrats on finishing! I just hit 59 last night and we’re currently tackling level 58 content, but really enjoying everything as we make progress. The story has been amazing!

    • I saw your post. Tried to reply there, but it says I’ve got a bad cookie or something, but clearing cookies didn’t help. Gratz on 59! And just you wait…… I purposely left all the spoilers out of this post about the finishing stuff. Well other than you saw that I obviously won since I left the place and went back to Ishgard on my dragon mount….

  2. We dinged 49 over the weekend and realised we need to buy Heavensward before hitting 50 or we’ll be wasting XP! Have you or will you be doing a post on AST healing at some point? I’ll have to really push for us to do the actual expansion content first as I’m sure my husband will want to level AST as soon as we find the job trainer…

    • Ya know, I can do that. Hadn’t really thought of it as a post topic since essentially at 30 it feels like a White Mage with smaller heals (have to spam a little more) and remembering to throw in the Draw mechanic for the buffs, but yeah, I can do a breakdown.

      Gratz on 49!

  3. Grats on finishing the story arc! I’m still avoiding spoilers for 2.5, and I can’t wait to see what else follows. 🙂

Leave a Reply

