[FFXIV] New Currency and FATE Grinding

Love the look of some of these environments

Love the look of some of these environments

I still haven’t tried out the 2 Primal Extreme fights yet, nor set foot in Alexander.  I have been logging in daily and running an Expert dungeon and my daily hunts logs though.  The daily hunts are to get the seals needed for equipment upgrades, and with last weeks patch, the new “Tomes of Esoterics” were added to the game.  These can be traded in for i200 equipment (which can be upgraded to i210) and are capped at a maximum of 450 per week.  Since an Expert roulette yields 75 (35 for the dungeon, 40 for the daily bonus), running 6 expert roulettes in a week is enough to cap you out.  I’m currently at 375 for the week, but I’ll get the cap tonight and then it will reset tomorrow.  The i200 weapon costs 990 Esoterics, so it will need 2 weeks and 2 days to get.  I’ve compared it on the vendor to my existing weapon and even though it’s “only” a jump of 20 ilvls, it’s a massive jump, so while the other Esoterics pieces of armor cost less and could be gotten more quickly, I’m planning to discipline myself and get the weapon 1st, then probably the jewelry, and then the armor last.  Though I may just do 1 ring to jump it from 170 to 200, then do the armor, and then the jewelry last.  We’ll see.

Level 58 healer gear appearance

Level 58 healer gear appearance

Still and all, with the weekly cap and given the fact that the pieces cost more than the Tomes of Law gear, this “gear grind” will take a lot longer to get through.  Meanwhile, since I’m doing the hunt logs on my Summoner job, it’s leveling up nicely and this in turn brings the Scholar job on up to boot.  Only doing the 1 Expert roulette each day has significantly reduced the number of Law tomes I’m bringing in, though, so while I’ve manage to at least buy the i170 (and upgrade it to i180) Scholar book, and I’ve also gotten the i170 chest piece for healer gear, there’s still a long way to go for the healer set.  Fortunately it will be a while to get the WHM and AST jobs up (WHM still 50, AST still 42) so there’s no rush on it.  I’ve got nearly the full i160 healer set out of the Expert dungeons, so it’s not like the SCH will exactly be hurting for gear once I get the ACN class to 60.  Although….. even though both the SCH and SMN are 58 and both wearing the level 58 HQ quest reward gear and both using level 58 weapons, the SMN has an iLvl of 142, while the SCH is sitting at 133.  The difference is the jewelry.  As I leveled BLM I also managed to get a decent set of level 56-58 jewelry which the SMN now takes advantage of, but the SCH is still mostly wearing the level 50 i115 jewelry, which drags down the overall gear level.  But the jewelry upgrades appear to be of only marginal benefit with an extremely high cost in gil on the market board, so I’ve not worried about that and will just upgrade it all when the SCH hits 60.  And that means I probably should focus more on the jewelry with Tomes of Law going forward, since I’ve got all the “left side” i160 pieces waiting, but still have gaps in the jewelry line-up.

Summoner gets the level 58 skill

Summoner gets the level 58 skill

In other news, the xp for FATEs in the Heavesnward zones was massively boosted in last week’s patch as well.  The speculation, which certainly seems plausible, is that the FATE xp was deliberately set low at 1st so that it would be more efficient to level by following the main story quest on the 1st job, and once that 1st month-ish was over and “everyone” had their 1st 60, then the FATE xp spigot was opened up so that the alt-jobs can now level at a decent speed in the new areas, rather than endlessly grinding away at the FATEs in North Thanalan while level-sync’d down.  As it is, most FATE’s seem to give 32-40K XP now, with some that chain into each other progressively increasing in xp rewards.  The “DD” (sorry, I don’t recall what it stands for) FATE in northern Churning Mists is a 3-FATE chain with the 1st yielding only 18K xp, but the 2nd gives the typical 40K, and the 3rd one gives 118K.  Anyway, the point of me typing all this out is that I spent enough time grinding FATEs in CM to get a complete level on the ACN class.  I specify as ACN, becuz while I mostly did it as SMN, there was a point where the Party Finder group had only 1 open slot and it specified healer, so I swapped to SCH while in that group 😉

My daughter's new Au Ra

My daughter’s new Au Ra

My 5-yr old daughter also decided that she wanted to “make a little kid like me” for a new character, so we fired up the character creator… and she went with an Au Ra instead.  She directed all of the appearance customizations, though I did the actual clicking and she just told me “I want the butterfly tatoo” and whatnot.  And of course now it needs to have a unicorn and a fairy and so on, so I spent a lot of time leveling it up as a CNJ this weekend.  Level 19 CNJ, level 10 ACN and level 10 THM so far.  I’ll probably not play it again until next weekend, since she can always play my character if she wants to fly around, and of course she still has her “cat with red hair and red ears” too.  She actually did have me also create a Lalafell for her, but it’s still level 1 and she wandered away from it after only a few minutes of the tutorial.  We’ll see how it goes if she has me work on that one too.  Time will tell.

Happy gaming out there!

The level 15 CNJ class quest, IIRC

The level 15 CNJ class quest, IIRC

One of my daughter's interesting screenies.  I like the confused look on the yeti's face

One of my daughter’s interesting screenies. I like the confused look on the yeti’s face

During the "DD FATE"

During the “DD FATE”

During the "DD FATE"

During the “DD FATE”

More DX11 blurring while in combat.

More DX11 blurring while in combat.

Completed stage 3 of the "DD FATE"

The “Barding Fate” in the southern Churning Mists

Not the usual "adventurer in need" role...

Not the usual “adventurer in need” role…

Posted on July 27, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

