[Blaugust Day 3] [FFXIV] Scholar Level 60 Quest

Working the SCH level 60 quest

Working the SCH level 60 quest

Okay, so I said yesterday that I’m up for a challenge in my class quests, but the level 60 Scholar quest was simply stupid.  And I mean REALLY stupid.  The non-stupid part is that it requires you to balance healing with doing damage, as any healer in this game in a dungeon or raid needs to do.  That wasn’t the big deal.  What was insanely stupid is that there’s a fail condition of the NPC’s that you’re with must have conditions cleansed from them but since they’re NPC’s and not an actual party with you there’s no party windows so you a) have no idea that they have any status on them and b) have to click them in the screen to select them to see if they got the status effect.  Further, there’s a long run-up to the fight where you have to go click something like 12 spots on the ground and fight a solo mob at the various spots before you can start the final boss fight, so it artificially increases the time taken as well.

I won, at least

I won, at least

The 1st time that I failed I had no idea what caused it.  2nd time I got farther along, and several tonberry NPC’s came to help, but I still failed.  This one was especially annoying as the boss mob was at 2% health on the failure, and I still didn’t know what caused it.  So then I went to “The Google” to seek some answers and found out about the status effect and that it was the little summoned adds that apply it.  A suggested strategy for that was to make sure that one keeps all one’s dots up on the boss with at least 10s duration on them and save some aetherflow stacks to use for Bane and maybe even Painflare in order to take them out before they can get off their infection attack.  I tried that on the next attempt and I think I got lucky at the end becuz I did see an NPC’s speech cue that he’d been infected this time, but then the mob died before the timer on the infection expired.  So yay, I won, but knowing that it was more due to luck than becuz I had control of the situation kinda grates on me, and so I feel like it’s was simply a badly designed quest. 😦

Hive barding!

Hive barding!

In other news, I’ve capped out Esoterics for the 2nd week in a row.  I’ve also begun working the AST after all.  I wanted to get it to 45 to get the class armor for it, but…. I made it to 45 and did the quest to get the new skill and that was all she wrote.  No level 45 ilvl 50 armor quests, so I still have a patchwork appearance.  On the other hand, the gear I have is perfectly sufficient for North Thanalan FATE grinding to 50 when I’ve got a set of i115-ish stuff waiting, so….. guess I’ll just do that.  That was actually how I got from 42-45 yesterday.  The group I was in had a guy with some really awesome looking barding on his Chocobo, so we asked him what it was and he called it Hive Barding, so we initially assumed it was a drop from Ravana Extreme, but he said that it’s on the market board but really expensive.  I ran to the market board later and it was 350K gil, but I was expecting it to be 700K based on that beng the price he said he’d paid, so I felt like I got a 50% discount on it 🙂

Happy gaming out there!

Mor Dhona during the AST level 45 quest

Mor Dhona during the AST level 45 quest

Mor Dhona during the AST level 45 quest

Mor Dhona during the AST level 45 quest

Posted on August 3, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ew… that Scholar quest sounds awful. Congrats on beating it.

    And no lvl 50 armor quests for the new classes? I didn’t know about that. That makes me a little sad.

    • There were other strats suggested also, like marking the npc’s with triangle, square, and circle then setting up a macro to target your marks, cast leeches, wait 3 for the GCD, target the next mark, and so on, but I was glad to simply be able to hit bane to spread my dots and the all died in 2 ticks then. But like I said, I saw the NPC say “What’s this stuff? Get it off me!” just before the mob died so I know it was just dumb luck that I won that time.

  2. also – you only have to touch the green colored aetherial traces – no mobs to kill, as soon as you touch the 4th one, the main boss takes off up the stairs

Leave a Reply

