[Wildstar] My Exile Crew

Since I get 12 character slots in Wildstar and there are 6 classes and 2 factions, it seems to make sense to me with my condition (alt-aholism, or alt-itis, depending on which you prefer to call it) to have a character of each class in each faction.  I think part of the reason I had trouble with the game on my 1st go at it was that I picked a class that the description sounded like I would love, but then I wasn’t enamored of it and I didn’t try any others to see if I’d like them better, so this time I’ll give each class a shot up to .. I dunno, level 10 or 15 or so and see if I like the feel of it then.  With that in mind, I started in on the Exile side since that was what I made last week, so I kept the streak going.  I haven’t advanced any farther on the Spellslinger I started last week, just did a flurry of character creation and mostly just took them in far enough to get their weapon and do that 1st mission where you swing it a couple of times in the general direction of some mobs so I could get a feel for if I liked the basic attacks.

I also discovered that that weird “floaty side to side” feel I got from the running animation back in the beta is mostly limited to male character models.  Females sorta have it, but it’s in the sway of their hips as they run rather than how the males feel like it’s the whole body.  It’s far less pronounced in the shorter Human and Aurin models.  As a result, even though I usually have a male or 2 in any given character group… not this time.  Mostly short females.  Anyway… here’s the list:

Human Spellslinger.  Really like this one's basic attack and the additional ones feel like they are nice finishing moves or bursts.

Human Spellslinger. I really like this one’s basic attack and the additional ones feel like they are nice bursts or finishing moves.  At least in the very low levels, this one’s my favorite.

Aurin Esper.  Basic attack goes off at the end of the cast bar, but you can cast while moving, so it's all the same.  Just feels slightly delayed.  I still like hitting 3 basics and then the 2nd attack you get at level 2 for a big damage shot.

Aurin Esper. The basic attack goes off at the end of the cast bar, but you can cast while moving, so it’s all the same. Just feels slightly delayed. The 2nd attack requires resources built from basic, so it’s a “1, 1, 1, 2” play style so far.  Not bad, but not great either.

Mordesh Medic.  I figured that a "space zombie" with a disease would naturally lean toward medical with trying to cure said disease.  Basic attack is a mid-range cone that doesn't do much damage per hit, but it's fast.  2nd attack is a slower cast but does a lot of damage, so it feels like it plays more "big hit opener, then finish off with basics."

Mordesh Medic. I figured that a “space zombie” with a racial disease would naturally lean toward medical with trying to cure said disease. Basic attack is a mid-range cone that doesn’t do much damage per hit, but it’s fast. 2nd attack is a slower cast but does a lot of damage, so it feels like it plays more “big hit opener, then finish off with basics.”

Aurin Stalker.  Figured an arboreal race would be good at stealth and ambush attacks.  Gets stealth attack from the get-go for a big opening burst, then the basic attack is fast and high damage.  No idea of 2nd attack yet -- still only level 1.

Aurin Stalker. I figured an arboreal race would be good at stealth and ambush attacks, so that’s the rationale for this race/class combo. It gets a stealth attack from the get-go for a big opening burst, then the basic attack is fast and high damage. No idea of 2nd attack yet — still only level 1.

Granok Warrior.  Rock for skin.  Seems natural to play a close-up brawler/tank.  Basic attack is very short range cone and low damage, but 2nd attack is high damage 4-hit thing that works very nicely as a closer.  That said.. not really feeling this one yet.

Granok Warrior. Rock for skin so it seems natural to play a close-up brawler/tank. Basic attack is very short range cone and low damage, but 2nd attack is high damage 4-hit thing that works very nicely as a closer. That said.. not really feeling this one yet.

Human Engineer.  No real reason for this combo other than I wanted an engineer to round out the 6 and for the Exiles I like the human appearance best.  Base on the "late game armor preview" she'll look like a robot before long anyway, so the actual racial appearance won't matter.  Vaguely remember the gameplay from my 1st outing back in the open beta, and the little bit I did at level 1 this time seemed the same.  Didn't feel it then, not really feeling it now either, but we'll see how it is as I get up a bit higher.

Human Engineer. No real reason for this combo other than I wanted an engineer to round out the 6 and for the Exiles I like the human appearance best. Based on the “late game armor preview” she’ll look like a robot before long anyway, so the actual racial appearance won’t matter. I vaguely remember the gameplay from my 1st outing back in the open beta, and the little bit I did at level 1 this time seemed the same. Didn’t feel it then, not really feeling it now either, but we’ll see how it is as I get up a bit higher.

And there you have it.  So far, nothing about this game screams “play me” and so even though last night was an “I don’t need to play FFXIV” night due to the Esoterics cap, I played that game more than this one.  I really only played Wildstar becuz I wanted to make the 6 toons and take screenies of them, more than anything.  I’m hopeful that after the F2P conversion and me playing a bit more that I’ll feel a bit more hooked on it.  Dunno why I want to like this game so much, even though so far I just don’t actually care, but there it is.  Who can divine the reasoning behind the human psyche?

 

Happy gaming out there!

Posted on September 22, 2015, in MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

