[FFXIV] Patch 3.1 is here!

Attuning the Idyllshire Aetheryte

Attuning the Idyllshire Aetheryte

As the title says, patch 3.1 dropped early this morning.  3 am my time, according to the schedule, anyway.  I didn’t go to bed early or anything, but I still ended up waking up about 90 minutes before my alarm was due to go off (which isn’t really abnormal at all), so I hopped in to see what was up.

Flying Magitek Armor. Why yes -- it *is gilded. People like me!

Flying Magitek Armor. Why yes — it *is* gilded. People like me!

The level 60 dungeons (former expert roulette) now give 35 Esoterics and 15 from the roulette, so they’re only worth 50 a day for a single run instead of 75.  I assume that the 2 new dungeons will give 75 now, thus making it possible to gain 125 Esoterics in a day for 2 roulette runs, so that will be nice.  Thus if my assumption is correct, one can cap out in 4 days now instead of 6.  But!  It also appears that the Centurio Seals are going to be a lot more important, since now they will be used to buy the item needed to buy Esoteric gear upgrade items.  They won’t be cheap, and if you don’t do hunts it will take up to a month to be able to upgrade a single item (upgrades item for left side pieces will be 6 tokens that require 500 seals apiece, so 3000 seals, and you can get 870 seals per week if you don’t do the ranked hunts, which means… 4 weeks per item.  Ouch!  That might make even me join some hunts.).

Flying Eyeball too

Flying Eyeball too

Anyway, I went to Mor Dhona and talked to Alys and the Wandering Minstrel, so I’ve unlocked the new trial.  I also headed to the Airship dock and did the initial quest chain to unlock the void Ark.  Apparently after I run each phase of it there will be additional quests to unlock the additional phases or something.  And finally I headed to the manor house and grabbed the next quest in the chain of the MSQ… and then next, and then next, and so on.  While doing those I ran across the unlock for the new Arboretum dungeon, but I still haven’t seen the unlock for Pharos Sirius, so I’ll have to find that one tonight.

MSQ for 3.1 completed!

MSQ for 3.1 completed!

I actually finished the entire new series of MSQ in about 90 minutes.. maybe not even that long.  It was mostly just running around talking to people.  1 quest actually had me kill 2 easy mobs — made easier by the White Mage spamming Holy and killing all the quest mobs that popped for all the people showing up to the place.  And the final quest had a mini-instance of the Vault that was easily done… probably easier than it should have been since I’m in i199 gear, but still quite easy.  Just the typical “kill the minor mobs 1st to reduce the incoming dps, then focus on the one with the high hp, and an NPC will heal you if you need it” stuff.

The scene that lead to Alphinaud's funny exchange with Yshtola

The scene that lead to Alphinaud’s funny exchange with Yshtola

The MSQ was a nice little new chapter, and sets up the future installments well, I think.  I won’t spoil the reveals in the text here, but the screenshots that follow the text might have some spoilery things, so read captions at your own risk.  There was a funny scene where discussing how Yshtola came out of the aetheric Lifestream in the buff and Alphinaud said something to the effect of “I’ll never forget that!” and of course he meant it totally innocently, but wicked Yshtola teased him as though he was talking dirty to her instead.  Watching him splutter out what he really meant after that was simply hilarious!  It was also nice to have a Lalafell NPC voiced by someone who didn’t sound like she was trying to emulate a small child’s voice, but had an alto speaking voice instead.  I’ve gotten so used to Lala’s high-pitched squeaking that it was nice to have a real adult voice instead.

Happy gaming out there!  And ‘ware spoilers!

A Sky Pirate!

A Sky Pirate!

Sky Pirates Lair!

Sky Pirates Lair!

Being respectfully quiet... so we can eavesdrop, of course.

Being respectfully quiet… so we can eavesdrop, of course.

Wasn't this screenie in the Patch Notes?

Wasn’t this screenie in the Patch Notes?

She didn't like what she heard...

She didn’t like what she heard…

Her lieutenant asks her a question . . .

Her lieutenant asks her a question . . .

And how on earth does a pixelated lady who's somehow not in the uncanny valley manage to look crafty/cunning/sly with only 1 eye?

And how on earth does a pixelated lady who’s somehow not in the uncanny valley manage to look crafty/cunning/sly with only 1 eye?

I thought one gazed into a crystal ball?

I thought one gazed into a crystal ball?

The Warriors of Darkness

The Warriors of Darkness

No really! It says so right in their caption!

No really! It says so right in their caption!

Nidhogg back at full power

Nidhogg back at full power

Heroic Virdofnir (sp?) in Ishgard.

Heroic Virdofnir (sp?) in Ishgard.

Dark Knight in a red wedding dress. I wonder if this is a subtle Game of Thrones reference?

Dark Knight in a red wedding dress. I wonder if this is a subtle Game of Thrones reference?

Someone already paid $15 to look like Minfilia.

Someone already paid $15 to look like Minfilia.

Now this outfit I would pay real money for, though not Minfilia's

Now this outfit I would pay real money for, though not Minfilia’s

Posted on November 10, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really can’t wait to finish the 2.5 story and start on HW so I can catch up to 3.1! I’ll get there… eventually, haha. But all those screenies look awesome and make me excited to see what’s coming!!

    • You’ll get there sooner or later, I’m sure. That’s the beauty of MMO’s — there’s really no need to rush through them, you always have plenty of time to “catch up” as it were.

Leave a Reply

