[FFXIV] Tanks are all 60

An Azys Lla sunrise

An Azys Lla sunrise

In my last post, I mentioned that I thought I’d get Paladin to 60 on Friday night, Warrior to 60 on Sunday, and then Dark Knight on Tuesday.  What I didn’t count on is the sheer amount of XP that the Great Gubal Library now gives.  14K XP is the starting point for trash mobs and you get chain bonuses taking it up to over 16K per mob.  1st boss gives over 90K, 2nd boss gives 142K, and 3rd boss gives 270K on top of all of that.  It’s insane.  So anyway….  Saturday morning before the reset (so still “Friday” by the game’s reckoning) I hopped into the leveling roulette, since one can grab the Friday Beast Tribe quests and hunting logs and do them on Saturday, then also grab the Saturday ones and do them as well.  I figured I’d do the dungeon and then need to do the Vanu Vanu and at least some of the hunting logs to hit 60 since I needed about 1.7 million XP for the level.  But no, killed the final boss and got the roulette bonus of just shy of 300K XP on top of the xp for running the dungeon and that was enough right there.

The sword!  It glows!

The sword! It glows!

The class quest was pretty fun, since I already had the entire suit if upgraded law gear plus an i185 ring from one of the new expert dungeons, so I had an ilvl of 180 overall when the game is tuned for more like 140-ish.  There was all the typical running around talking to people, but then I also got to do 2 duels vs fairly powerful NPC opponents.  Well.. powerful for where the quests are tuned.  I walked through them without any trouble at all, finishing both of them at nearly full health (I even took a screenie at the end of the 2nd fight, but decided not to post it since that felt like a little too much bragging when it’s really just the gear).  They were still quite fun, though.  But then, I actually like to sometimes feel like things are a walk in the park — makes me feel like the work of getting the good gear is really paying off.

60 Warrior!

60 Warrior!

So anyway, Warrior was already close to 300K XP in to 59, so I did the daily hunts for Friday and Saturday, as well as the 2 rounds of the Vanu Vanu quests.  This put me a touch under 2 million XP earned, so about halfway through.  I did the leveling roulette and got The Vault for another xp bump, then queued up for a standard run in the Library.  2nd boss dropped the level 59 tank chest piece, so I equipped that and kept on going, becuz sure I was going to be 60 in just a few minutes, but why not?  And finishing the Library did it and ding 60!

Level 60 Warrior appearance

Level 60 Warrior appearance

The Warrior class quest was a duty where you had to kill several waves of easy sahagin npc’s, then a final boss that took quite a bit longder and put out some hurt.  Fortunately, some of the NPC’s cast periodic heals, and the Warrior conceit of a mob called “inner rage” popping in that heals you if you wander close to it was also in full force (and I had 2nd Wind and Equilibrium too) so it wasn’t ever a big deal, even when the (unstunnable) scorpion did its big tail strike that hits for about 80% of your health.  Of course…. i180 vs tuned for i140…. I’m sure it would have been much harder in regular gear.

60 Dark Knight!

60 Dark Knight!

So there I was on Sunday with a round of hunts, beast tribe, and roulettes available and only Dark Knight to go.  What’s a compulsive altoholic to do?  Well, since the title of the post is “all 3 tanks are 60” I think you’ve already figured it out……..  Yep, swapped to DRK and was only about 12K into the level, so had pretty much the full 3.88 million xp to earn.  All it took was the leveling roulette (The Vault yet again), the dailies, and then 2 runs of the Library.  I actually made 60 on the 2nd boss of the library, so was able to equip my better gear then.  Not that it made much difference since the Library syncs you to i150 and I was i144 when I went in, but hey… every little bit helps, right?

This is when you *don't* antagonize the guy with the sword

This is when you *don’t* antagonize the guy with the sword

The class quest was similar to Warrior — defeat several waves of easy trash, then the “hard” boss, who was actually quite a bit easier than the Warrior quest’s boss was.  And in the final cutscene… spoiler alert here … when you’re defeated and the guy’s got this massive sword in your face and says “I’ll spare you if you go away and never come back” and your response is “I’ll never stop coming after you!!!!!!!” well what exactly do you think is going to happen?  Sheesh.

During Turn 5 while waiting for Twintania to come back.

During Turn 5 while waiting for Twintania to come back.

In other news, on Saturday evening Greysky Armada got up to some shenanigans in the 2nd Coil running unsync’d for possible glamour gear drops.  There weren’t a whole lot of people on at the appointed time, so I got asked if I’d like to join.  I’ve never done any of the Coil stuff, so I didn’t have 2nd Coil unlocked, and said so, but they offered to run Turn 5 to unlock the 2nd Coil for me, so that’s what we did.  Running it all unsync’d was pretty easy.  If Turn 5 didn’t have insta-kill mechanics then it would have been a complete cakewalk.  As it was, it took us 3 or 4 tries before we got it down.  Turn 6 we were able to simply ignore all the mechanics and burn it, so we did that twice, then Turn 7 we failed on the 1st try, but then got it the next 2 times with no problem.  They were ready to go into Turn 8 and it was fun and all (and I even got the caster boots from turn 7, so yippee for glamour) but it was time to get my daughter to bed, so I bowed out then.  It was nice to take the break from leveling or even worrying about gear for anything other than cosmetic reasons and to simply play the game for fun, not “for a reason.”  I should do that more often!

My daughter's new "red outfit"

My daughter’s new “red outfit”

I also did the FFXI event on my daughter’s character so she’s got the nice outfit from that now too, and is very happy with that, though she’s lately been playing more Minecraft than anything, and when she does play FFXIV she unequips her job stone so she can have her “blue squirrel” as her pet instead of a fairy.  I really need to get THM to 15 and unlock Summoner for her…  Still… she goes to interesting places and takes interesting screenshots when she does, so she’s definitely having fun, and that’s what it’s all about.

Happy gaming out there!

Taken by a 5-yr old

Taken by a 5-yr old

Also taken by a 5-yr old

Also taken by a 5-yr old

A foggy day in the Sea of Clouds

A foggy day in the Sea of Clouds

After completing Turn 5

After completing Turn 5

Heading in to Turn 6

Heading in to Turn 6

About to fight the Turn 7 boss

About to fight the Turn 7 boss

3 Roegadyn in 1 group!  That caused comment since only something like 4% of the game is Roe, so this was a rare thing.

3 Roegadyn in 1 group! That caused comment since only something like 4% of the game is Roe, so this was a rare thing.

 

Posted on November 30, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on getting this trio of classes to 60!

Leave a Reply

