[FFXIV][Endless Legend] Void Ark Down!

Bard Level 51 Appearance

Bard Level 51 Appearance

This past weekend in FFXIV I made it to Rank 7 in the regard of the Vanu Vanu.  This is high enough to buy the Sanuwa mount, so yeah… that happened.  I also managed to get both my Bard and Machinist jobs to level 51, so they’re eligible to go in to Dusk Vigil now.  I ran it often enough during the tank leveling that I the level 51 i120 weapons for both classes, and the full left-side as well, except the helmet.  Only have 1 “Aiming” accessory on the right side, but I was also in full poetic which is also i120 anyway, so I really just swapped gear for the appearance and slightly better (but much nicer looking) weapons (i115 to i120 for Bard, and i110 to i120 on the MCH).

Running through the Void Ark.  We may have had a few summoners along....

Running through the Void Ark. We may have had a few summoners along….

I finally ran the Void Ark.  3 of the 4 bosses were really easy.  1st one was almost a tank and spank, 2nd one I really don’t remember, so there couldn’t have been much to it.  3rd one sends out a lot of raidwide damage, so we actually wiped on it the 1st time, and on the 2nd time, the healers in my group of 8 still couldn’t keep us up (I was reduced to spamming my own Physick on myself at times, as well as combat-rezzing other players), but we had it down to less than 20% by then, so the other 2 groups were able to finish it off.  And then the 4th one felt almost like a tank-n-spank again, especially compared to the 3rd boss.  I got my Mhachi Farthing and upgraded my Summoner chest piece to i210 with that.  Since I don’t plan to run the raid again until next weekend, I also “blew my weekly loot roll” on an i200 Jacket of Aiming and won it, so that will be nice when I eventually get BRD and MCH to 60.  I also had enough of the … um…. log thingies that you buy with Centurio Seals to be able to upgrade a 2nd left-side piece, but I did a ring instead so that I can buy a 2nd i200 ring to replace my i190 Gordian one.  Except I haven’t run experts in so long, I don’t actually have enough Esoterics.  I jumped in the queue for a bit, but after 15 minutes it still said it was reserving an instance, much less assembling a party, so I decided not to worry about it.

That looks cool, I wonder what it is?

That looks cool, I wonder what it is?

Instead I logged out and moved on to my “new hotness” that I’m still learning how to play.  A friend suggested Endless Legend to me, and said it’s similar to and maybe even better than Civ5.  High praise coming from him, and Steam had it for a mere $30, so.. I pulled the trigger.  I did their tutorial thing, which basically just showed you a few of the mechanics, then started a 2-played “Newbie” game.  The AI opponent went on an expansion spree early, so while I did just fine getting 3 regions settled, he had 5.  But I had better technology, so my armies walked all over his cities and I won that game with an expansion victory.

Oh, they're teleport-y flying thingies!

Oh, they’re teleport-y flying thingies!

I still felt really lost though so I looked up some guides, read some of their forums, etc.  And thus armed with that new knowledge I tried a 4-player Newbie game.  I got to the point where my tech victory was a foregone conclusion, so I pulled the plug on that one, since I still wanted to keep learning more about the game and strategies and whatnot, not hit “Next turn” another 60 times until I finally got all the technologies researched.  I started yet again, this time with a different race (Drakkens instead of Ardent Mages) to see how the play style differed.  Didn’t seem a huge difference in style, and since I was still newbie-level, I could have easily won the tech victory, but I decided to go for my racial victory instead which involved a lot of quests, which (oddly for the supposedly diplomatic race) had me conquer another race’s capital and install my own governor in it as part of it.  But anyway… yeah, I did the quests, and eventually was in process of building a wonder that would have won the game when it completed, but then the quests that I was doing had me power up some derelict spaceship and when it launched that gave me a victory instead, which seems odd since I thought the quests for victory lead to the wonder building, so…. I still have a lot to learn, it appears.

I caught this self-portrait during the cutscene after the Ark and liked how it turned out

I caught this self-portrait during the cutscene after the Ark and liked how it turned out

Still and all…. usually if I’m playing Civ5, sure I’ll play later than I intended, but I’ll also be tired and looking a the clock the whole time while internally yelling at myself to just save the game and go to bed already.  Endless Legend…… I didn’t feel tired, so I didn’t look at the clock and when I finished that last game there…. 3:30 am.  Oops!  I’ll have to be more careful as I play this going forward.  I think I shall try the Cultists next, but not for a few days yet.  I’m still catching up on my sleep from that night, after all…..

Happy gaming out there!

Such power! Such might!  How can a netherling do that?

Such power! Such might! How can a netherling do that?

My new "flying snake" mount.  you know it's mine and not a temporary quest mount becuz the shield behind me is in Idyllshire, not Sea of Clouds ;-)

My new “flying snake” mount. you know it’s mine and not a temporary quest mount becuz the shield behind me is in Idyllshire, not Sea of Clouds 😉

 

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m curious, why play multiple games of EL on newbie?

    Also, the AI is pretty passive/dumb until the ‘Serious’ level, at which point its bonuses allow it to be a bit more aggressive. I wouldn’t jump right to that, but keep it in mind as you learn the game.

    Speaking of learning, races like the Cult, Roving Clans, and Shadows play VERY differently from the others, so that’s also something to look forward to.

    • Biggest reason is that I’m still trying to figure out the mechanics, which techs seem to help most, things like that. Doing it in Newbie mode gives me time to get a jump on it, perhaps recover from mistakes when I make them, that kind of thing.

      As it is, I’ve done a couple more “quickie games” to get a feel for different factions now, and feel like I’ve got a handle on it, so I’m thinking I’ll start a new game on normal either tonight or tomorrow and see how it goes.

      • Makes sense. I generally don’t play small maps, quick games, so generally I’ll play one game to learn, but that one game takes a while anyway. Then the second game I go into it knowing most of the basics, but I could see this being done in multiple quick games as well.

      • Well FWIW, my game as the Cultists I finished at about turn 40. That was pretty quick 😉

Leave a Reply

