[FFXIV] Pug Tales Episode 5

ffxiv_09152017_190759

Paladin left side + shield Tomes of Creation gear set complete! Now on to the jewelry…

So there we were running Ala Mhigo with me tanking on my Paladin, a White Mage, and 2 Bards.  the bards both had neat looking bows so I did a quick examine on them before the 1st pull — 1 was the i320 Susano Ex bow, the other crafted i320 HQ bow.  And their gear all looked nice and Ala Mhigo caps you at i290 anyway, so we were all capped out.  We’re going along fine but after the 2nd boss I noticed that during the big fight with the hexadrone + lots of slashers that everything was dying slowly.  I thought to myself “surely one of the bards saved Mage’s Ballad for this fight to allow for maximum AE” but I checked the party buffs and neither one of them was singing a song at all.  And I thought back and realized I’d not really seen song buffs at any point during the dungeon, but just hadn’t thought much of it.

ffxiv_09162017_234311

Level 69 “Valerian Vedette” gear set

Regardless, I mentioned in group chat that I was surprised that in a party with 2 bards that there was no song being sung at all…  And for the rest of the dungeon, both bards kept their songs up.  Okay, I realize it’s “just a dungeon” and an ilvl capped one at that, but is that really an excuse for poor play?  I don’t care if you’re bleeding edge dps, but at least use your job’s core mechanics… right?  And they obviously were able to do it just fine for the rest of the dungeon, so I think it was just sad that I had to call them out before they stepped it up to “minimally competent,” especially since 1 of them at least had obviously been running extreme primals, so you’d think he’s at least average.  Or I could give them the benefit of the doubt and call it a  Classic case of “I thought you were doing that!”  “Me?  I thought YOU were!” perhaps?  Nah… I’m gonna go with “Lazy play in a PUG.”

***

ffxiv_09172017_113313

Level 70 Ninja AF3 set

2nd group — leveling roulette and I was tanking again.  Luck of the draw was Dusk Vigil.  The healer cast Protect, and away we went.  I pulled the 1st group of 3 mobs to the mylodon behind it becuz it’s an easy dungeon, but my health never went back up… like the healer wasn’t casting heals at all.  And it was too low a level sync for me to have my own Clemency heal yet, so I went down, then the 2 dps went down, and the healer cast a couple of Stone 2’s and went down also.

ffxiv_09172017_112744

During the level 70 Ninja quest we get male armor looks functional, and female armor with skintight leggings and a boob window. 😦

Back at the entrance DPS1 says “you pulled too much.”  I said “The healer didn’t cast a single heal.”  DPS2 backed me up on that and said directly to the healer “Please heal, we have plenty of dps.”  I pulled just the 1st 3 mobs after Protect went up.  Same thing — no heals cast, so I went down again, but since it was right by the entrance I was able to zerg-rush back to peel the mobs off the dps and so we got the 3 mobs down with only me and DPS2 having gone down (DPS2 also zerged back).  By now 5 minutes had passed so DPS2 as the leader initiated a vote-kick and we booted the healer out.  We waited about 10 minutes for another healer, and DPS2 said “How about you kick me, then I’ll swap to healer and re-join in-progress.  We tried that, but he never reappeared, so it seems that he got pulled into a different party.  His DPS replacement popped in immediately, and about 6 minutes later a healer finally came in.  And then we ran the whole dungeon no problem.

ffxiv_09172017_110122

Level 70 Ninja Arhat Scouting set that I specifically saved just for this screenshot

As a fun sidenote, in our conversation while initially waiting for healer I found that DPS2 was on my same server, so after I finished my run I sent him a tell asking if another group had snapped him up.  He said “Yes, they booted that same healer who wouldn’t heal that we had in our group.”  Nice to know it wasn’t just us that that WHM was trolling, I guess.

***

Group 3 — Loaded in to Ala Mhigo.  From the HP totals in the party window, everyone’s at the ilvl cap, so I pulled all 3 groups of mobs to the 1st barrier.  We took care of it, but the AE dps was really low and it took a while so I looked at the party window and realized DPS2 was an Archer, not a Bard. :O

ffxiv_09172017_110142

Level 70 Ala Mhigo Scouting set plus the i320 Chromite daggers that I’m actually using instead of the dungeon gear.

I said “Whoa!  Archer?” and he said “Yeah, I forgot to re-equip my job stone after a crafting session.”

Me: “Isn’t that what gear sets are for?”

Him: “To each their own.”

So anyway… did the next pull and there’s really no “big” or “small” on that one, since you kill the group and then more come, so we killed them and then the Archer popped up “You can kick me if you want, since I’m doing crap dps as archer.  I don’t care.”  I said “It’s fine, it’s not like this is a hard dungeon or anything.”  And then we went in and did the 1st boss.  It took noticeably longer than normal, but still wasn’t bad, but after it went down, the Archer dropped group himself.  I said “Aw, we were fine.” and the healer said he’s from the same FC as the Archer and that he’d said in their FC chat that he dropped on his own to make the run go faster for the rest of us.  Still… how does one not use gear sets but manually re-equip everything when changing around?  Seems so inconvenient at best, and mistake-prone too, as this proved.

***

As to my leveling progress — Ninja is 70 now.  Bard is just short of 69.  Machinist, Astrologian and White Mage still sit at 67.  Weaver is 70, Alchemist is 64, and Fisher is 64.  And that’s all the leveling I have left to do.  Once that’s done, I think I’ll focus more on crafting.  There’s still a whole world there that I’ve barely scratched the surface of in leveling the crafts since leveling is “best done” doing just a few items for leve quests.  I’ve never done 1-star or 2-star crafts, no idea about demimateria or legendary nodes… stuff like that.  I’d like to learn more once I no longer feel a need to level things up, so I think it will be an interesting journey for me.

Happy gaming out there!

Posted on September 18, 2017, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

