[FFXIV] This Crafting Thing

ffxiv_09302017_084318

Level 68 Astrologian

Now that my leveling journey is nearly complete, I’ve begun to devote more time to crafting to see what all I can do with it.  While I was leveling all my crafting jobs up, I made use of the video guides and a google doc from “Mango7Rolls” that had very useful advice and information that was a huge help.

ffxiv_09302017_134037

Level 69 Astrologian

Of course now that I’m level 70 with all my crafters and have the full i290 crafted gear, it’s the little things to focus on now — things like how to meld, how to even get the materia to use for the melds, and so on.  Combat job materia is quite easy to get, between Centurio seals, leveling roulette, and hunts, but crafting materia — that’s harder.  You can buy the level 5 materia with red scrip (400 apiece) but the only way I know of to get level 6 materia is by breaking down spiritbonded gear, and even then it’s only about a 10% chance, so…. yeah, there’s a bit more effort involved there.

ffxiv_09302017_165829

Level 70 Astrologian AF3 set

Essentially what you gotta do is craft yourself an entire “spare set” of the i290 gear.  This is something of a project on its own, especially if you don’t want to spend money buying materials.  You need 140 “twincoon” which are an occasional drop from the giant silkworm mobs in the Fringes, or you can have retainers go hunting for it and bring back 7 an hour.  Yeah — 7.

ffxiv_09302017_165331

Level 70 Astrologian Ala Mhigan Healing set

Anyway… just off the top of my head it’s something like 140 twincoon, 32 halgai manes, 32 mansaziri hair, 51 effervescent water, 2 crescent spring water, 15 gazelle hides, 5 natron (made from rock salt and effervescent water), 5 linseed oil (made from flax), 24 zelkova logs, 12 persimmon logs, 25 persimmons, and 5 terebinth.  I think that’s all of it, but I probably forgot an item or 3.  But yeah…. get all that together, then start banging out 35 twinthread, which then becomes 9 twinsilk and 8 thread left over, then make 16 worsted yarn and turn 12 of it into Steppe Serge with 4 yarn left over, turn the gazelle hides, persimmons, and terebinth into gazelle leather, the zelkova and persimmon logs into lumber, while also making some varnish, and then once that’s all done you’re finally ready to craft the 11 gear pieces — 6 armor, 5 jewelry (wooden jewelry, no less, hence the lumber).

ffxiv_09302017_065120

My retainer brought this back for me on Saturday

ffxiv_09302017_113916

And it’s quite cute.

ffxiv_09302017_113929

I don’t know what’s up with this pot it sometimes jumps into, though. I assume it’s a Japanese thing…  Edit:  Wikipedia to the rescue!  It’s a Japanese folk tale:  Bunbuku Chagama

After they’re done, equip them all and put a single materia in each of them.  Melded items bond faster.  And then pop a spiritbond potion (make +5’s yourself, or use red scrips to buy +3’s) and do a quick synthesis of about 150 (if using a +5 potion) to 210 (if using a +3 potion) of… well… anything high-level, really.  Mango7Rolls suggests things like molybdenum ingots or palladium nuggets since you can sell those pretty easily — borne out by me selling a couple of small stacks of palladium nuggets on the 1st day for nearly 200K in profit.  Using quick synth there’s about a 20-25% failure rate, and it just does NQ items, but it also will burn through about 10 items per minute so you’re done in 15-20 minutes, where if I used the crafting macros to make 200 it’d be more like 4 hours, so even with the loss of items (which still advances the spiritbond) it’s worth it to do the quick synth, simply for the time saved.  Of course there’s all the gathering of 800 raws beforehand…  Fortunately I can turn off the game sounds and listen to music while running in endless circles gathering.

ffxiv_09302017_102244

I finally decided to go looking for vistas and finished off the 10 or so I had left in Heavensward that I’d not stumbled across simply by wandering around.

Yeah, it’s kinda labor intensive, but it gets you a decent chunk of level 5 materia and 1 or 2 level 6’s each time, so it’s worth it, IMO.  Of course I still need to get a bunch of scrips so I can get all my master books.  I’ve actually bought all the level 5’s, but I need to backfill in the level 3’s and 4’s too.  I’m not sure I care about the 1’s and 2, and they have odd requirements of things to craft for the 1’s and demimateria (which aren’t really used) for the 2’s, so… we’ll see.  I’ll probably eventually do it becuz I’m a completionist, but it can wait.

ffxiv_09302017_125649

This vista in Kugane was a lesser version of the big jumping puzzle at the hotel to the left of center there. I tried that one too, as the final vista in the SB log is at the top of it, and I got farther than I have before, but still no dice on making it all the way up yet.

***

ffxiv_09302017_232115

This was during a cutscene in the final fishing job quest, and I liked how my glamour looked in it, so it got the screenie.

On the leveling front, I got AST from 67 to 70 over the weekend.  Initially I planned to just do the “HW & SB Hunt logs, plus the HW Beast Tribes” thing that gets about 3.1 million xp per day —

Hunts plus HW Beast Tribes

Just under 3.1 million xp this morning from hunts and HW Beast Tribes

— and just take my time, but given how the timers work, on Saturday morning I ended up doing that 2.5 times (hunt logs from Thursday, logs and quests from Friday before 9 am, logs and quests from Saturday after 9 am) which got me to less than 1 million xp to go for level 68, so I kinda went “why not?” and queued up for Doma Castle.  And found it insanely easy to heal.  This dinged me to 68 so I did my job quest, and then I re-ran it 4 more times and hit 69, then ran Castrum Abania 3 times, and boom there it was.

ffxiv_10022017_072539

My current crafting glamour. Got those “Tantalus” pants from veteran reward. I figure since I’m crafting up lots of crafting sets now, I’d better make my actual melded set look different so I don’t accidentally get rid of it.

What I found while doing all of that was:  I am fine when healing if everyone’s doing their good avoidance of telegraphs, but if a couple of things go wrong, then I get easily flustered and lose track of the various things going on and then it all falls to pieces.  And I also found when playing AST that I generally like to run Noct on trash, and Diurnal on bosses.  Trash tends to not really hit me or the dps, so having Noct’s powerful shields seems to do really well for the tank.  Bosses tend to do unavoidable AE from time to time, though, so I like Diurnal there so that Aspected Helios will actually top the group off, not just put a shield on them.  Probably just as effective either way, but I like full bars.  2nd boss in Catrum Abania I leave on Noct though.  He has powerful tankbusters, and the rest of the group *shouldn’t* take any damage if he’s done right, so keeping the shields on the tank works better there.

ffxiv_10012017_105408

I didn’t realize we had Native American costumes in the game. Looks kinda cute on a Lalafell.

So anyway… 2 levels left on White Mage and then I’m all leveled up.  I should finish that this week, even if I don’t do any dungeons.  We’ll see how it goes.

Happy gaming out there!

Posted on October 2, 2017, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Vistas!! That’s something I had completly forgotten was a thing in this game. Now I have a job to do! Thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

