Time of Protection Almost Over

Resting

It’s getting to the point where my newbie protection is about to drop – 25 hours of in game time later. I’m nervous and excited about this. I’m not typically a huge pvp player and I don’t imagine that will change too much. What I do enjoy is the thrill of being sneaky, and hanging out in dangerous areas or doing things that I shouldn’t be able to do while I’m trying to avoid getting killed. I have no idea how this will carry over into Darkfall, but yeah I’m excited.

In the mean time I’ve been working on my skills. I saved up enough coin to pick up a bunch of crafting, so I’ve been busy cooking, tailoring, jewelsmithing, and working on herbalism. I haven’t figured out how the market works yet or if there is one or where it may be, but that will come with time.

I haven’t managed to find a guild to call home yet although I’d like to. Since I’m more of a crafter / explorer then I am a bloodthirsty pvp sort, I hope to find a place eventually.

I’ve spent most of my time in game (aside from crafting and harvesting to work up skills) listening to channels and getting familiar with who is who. There are always “those people” – you know the sort. They talk a great deal and seek out any sort of attention they can possibly accumulate. The public channels of Darkfall brings Barrens chat to its knees crying. I’ve heard every type of insult imaginable, and then some. People can be pretty dang cruel when they’re playing as anonymous avatars in a pvp game.

I decided to pick up the game and three months of subscription for $60, which is the promotion that’s going on right now (well, it was no idea if it still is). I’m looking forward to seeing how far I can get in the game in that time. Of course with all of the other games I’m currently playing we’ll just have to see.

Once ‘newbie’ protection is over, well. Then the game begins for real.

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on March 16, 2010, in Darkfall. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wish I’d waited for the dollar trial. I bought a month of the game and while I really wanted to like it, I just couldn’t get past the user interface. I like difficult games, but I don’t want the difficulty to come from trying to interact with my menus and inventory.

    I love a lot of other things about the game though, maybe I’ll come back one day.

  2. Hey you played a wolf character! Hurray!

Leave a Reply

